Returning to optimisim and pragmatism

15 Apr

Hi all,

I made a rather rash decision and went to Morocco with my girlfriend for two weeks…spending more of my dwindling monies.

I think it’s one of the best investments I’ve made since I started the entrepreneurial journey. Did I rest my mind and body? No! But did I immerse myself fully in different, exciting challenges – haggling in souks, getting lost in medinas, freezing my nuts off in the desert? Hell yes! 

And that was probably more important that just ‘resting’ because I didn’t think about work for two weeks. 

It’s been quite a while since I started this journey and haven’t made a single penny, outside of my music. But I’m learning, a lot, and I’m very proud of myself to keep persevering, learning, and evolving every step of the way.

 

Just before I left for Morocco I lost my co-founder. It was extremely difficult, but we had different visions for the product, the dynamics of the team, and we had to part ways. I felt terrible and again alone with no-one to push the momentum forwards. But I’m still going.

So where am I at now? I’m focusing on two projects, with a third in the back of my head:

 

1) Remap: An app that integrates essential knowledge and therapeutic personal practises to help people to strengthen and enrich their mental well-being. I have a working prototype which will be on the google play store by the end of the week, and hopefully the iphone app store if it gets accepted. My webste for the app – http://www.remapapp.com will be live by tonight! 

From here I want to start getting some downloads, feedback, and reviews. 

While I’m doing this I’m going to be searching for a Technical Co-founder, a CTO, for the company who can develop the app themselves so that I have someone one board for the long run who won’t flake like our last paid developer, and will mean I won’t have to outsource the work and increase the risk of going bust – then we can get on with making version 2!

 

2) Music. My music is well! It’s definitely giving me a boost through the hard times of a start-up. I’m still doing a bit of my own acoustic singer/songwriter stuff a few times a month which brings in a little. The blues band I’m in called Smoken Joes is still going strong. We’re still doing pub gigs, with a few festivals taking us on. The rock band I’m in, 4th labyrinth, is shooting up and really getting exciting. Just before I left to Morocco we won the Cambridge Band Competition, got offered management with Butterfly 13 Management Consultants, and the lead singer’s friend, based in Germany is a tour manager for some big bands in Europe and is flying over to discuss with us our next steps…exciting stuff :D. Also my favourite band Full Measure which I played guitar and sang in recorded an EP last month – will give you the itunes link in my next post. For now you can listen to my favourite track we did, for free – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4khwOzJwDok

The third is just an idea, but I’m posting the opportunity on elance.com to see what quotes I get for the cost to make it. I can’t go into detail yet but it’s a new app to help shoppers find out stock easily for an item they might want in a shop. The difficulty I’m finding is how can I link my own app to a shops inventory with little or no hassle to the shop? So I’m posting on shop-tech forums and meeting some developer friends this week to get some help!

 

All in all things are going quite well. Although the money isn’t flowing in I think I’m getting there. I’ve learnt how to take an idea and get it out of just being a concept, the next stage is to making the next step to the product being top quality, where people really want to buy it. One thing I’ve realised is that in project management there isn’t simply take the idea and make it and sell it there are LOTS of steps inbetween these, all of them with their challenges, and each one of them making you stronger in so many aspects of life.

Image

So those of you walking your path don’t get too bogged down if you realise the distance takes a few more steps than you first expected 🙂

Happy stepping!

4 Responses to “Returning to optimisim and pragmatism”

  1. izniarifahshuib April 15, 2014 at 3:10 pm #

    wow I love the concept of remap!

    • blueskiesb April 15, 2014 at 3:20 pm #

      Thank you! I’ll be putting it out for free for the first version so I hope you’ll try it when it’s out 🙂

      • izniarifahshuib April 15, 2014 at 3:27 pm #

        for sure, inform me when it’s out 🙂

      • blueskiesb May 12, 2014 at 3:06 pm #

        Will do 🙂

Leave a Reply

