First event for BlueSkies

15 May

One of the best bits of advice I’ve gotten so far in the world of creating and developing your own projects is not to let it stay in your head for too long; ask yourself  ‘what can I do right now with what I’ve got?’.

It was initially the same for BlueSkies. I wanted to raise lots of money to hold a big first event, get publicity, all the major conservationists of Cambridge so that BlueSkies collaboration could start with a bang!

If I had have stayed with that mindset there would still be no progression whatsoever. Instead, with encouragement I held the first event at a local pub, the Anchor, with one person rsvp-ing as a yes and many others with maybes.

Even when that first person turned up and we started talking I realised that finally I was doing something. I was making something happen..no matter how small I had set this in motion!

Eventually we had myself and six incredibly smart and talented conservationists with a diverse range of experiences and opinions discussing how we could solve three practical problems faced by Orangutan Foundation International (http://www.orangutan.org.uk/) in Borneo. I am writing our findings up formally and sending them to OFI by the end of the day.

The two things I’ve learnt from this initial experience are:

– Don’t wait to long for the perfect setting to get your idea started. Look at what you can do in the now with the tools that are available to you. Once you’ve done that you can start to utilise new and more helpful tools, but don’t stay too long in your own head. Aim for progression not perfection.

– Build and make use of networks and friends you’ve already established strong ties with, they will be the most passionate people about ensuring what you do is a success..and then when you get the chance don’t forget to repay the kind favour!

I’m really glad to have made the first step and I’m looking forward to taking more and more down the path to my own personal and professional development.

As always all comments are welcome and appreciated!

 

Image

4 Responses to “First event for BlueSkies”

  1. TopHat May 15, 2013 at 8:09 pm #

    These are wise words of wisdom – and much appreciated! I will try and apply them to my own life. Good on you for getting out there and making your ideas real. Thanks!

    • blueskiesb May 20, 2013 at 10:16 am #

      Thanks TopHat I’m glad this post has helped you in your own path. Let us know how your own ventures progress.

  2. Amy Logan May 21, 2013 at 2:25 pm #

    Well done you! Really good ideas, I’m kind of in the same process as you and you’re totally right, I need to start acting with what I have, now. Thanks for sharing!

    • blueskiesb May 21, 2013 at 2:32 pm #

      Thanks Amy I’m glad you like. Let us know how you get on!

Leave a Reply

